The Love of Money is the Root of all Evil

Yesterday I had occasion to drive by an apartment building I had wanted to move into several years ago, before I moved into the place where I live now. I liked the look of the place. Driving by caused me to recall the story of why I never lived there.

In those days I was staying with a friend after coming back from a year in Europe. I had started to look for a place. I had been looking at several prospects a week. This particular place had good light, secure access, parking and a nice grassy inner courtyard style that lent itself to a sense of airiness. I had taken a look at the unit on offer and agreed with the person who showed it to me that I would take it.

Later, after I had taken care of some things, like getting my checkbook, I went back over to arrange for the paperwork. When I got there the person I had dealt with told me that the place was now rented to somebody else. They said that our agreement was not as good as the deposit they had received from another person.

Recalling this story reminded me of what happened when I applied for the job I am doing now. I work delivering stuff as an independent contractor. To do this I have to pay all of the bills until the check comes from the company, whose agent the next man in question was, that actually has the contract with the company I deliver for.

This too was a story of an agreement. The job involved passing a drug screen. The person who hired me told me that they would call me at around a certain time the next day in order to tell me where to go to take the screen. The next day I went shopping for a few things at a certain place that was centrally located in the city, so that I could easily get to whatever location it was that they would tell me to go to for the screen. As you can guess, after a while I was beginning to get worried when I hadn’t heard from him. Just like the agent for the apartment complex he had given his word and backed out of it. When I called the fellow he told me that he had hired somebody else. He said it as if he had not told me that I was hired. I didn’t blow up at him because I don’t believe in doing that to people, even under those kinds of circumstances.

As it turns out both of these instances transpired the way they did because of money. The first because the person who went back on their word did not consider their word as binding, but did consider money as binding. The second because the person who went back on their word believed someone else to have more of a means to provide than I did. He allowed himself to believe that another person, driving a new car (vs me and my used car), who had come to apply after he had told me I was hired was potentially a better fit for their scheme of independent contracting. That person quit after three days, when they realized what they were really getting into, all of those miles on a brand new car plus buying all of that gas until the check came for payment.

The point is to ask, what is the world really made of? Is it made out of money, or is it made out of people?

When Jesus said, “The love of money is the root of all evil.” He didn’t also say that money should be abolished. In fact, when somebody asked Him about paying taxes, he asked for a coin. When He got the coin he asked, “Whose picture is on this?” Everybody there said, “Caesar’s”. He then told them, “Alright then, render unto Caesar the things that are Caesar’s and unto God the things that are God’s” He was not, therefore, trying to underhandedly, or otherwise, abolish money. Nor was He making a backhanded remark against the government. What He was doing was addressing our attitude towards money. In fact, in regard to money, he also said, “You cannot serve two masters. Either you will love the one and hate the other, or hate the one and love the other. You cannot serve both God and Mammon.”

There has been a lot of talk about trust in the media lately, mostly to do with stories concerning the rise of app sourced services, the use of which requires a measure of trust. You have to trust somebody, for instance, to whom you rent your house to through AirBNB, not to rob you blind, plus they know where you live now. You have to trust someone who gives you a ride not to take you somewhere and murder you, ditto for the reverse. People also lend tools and things through apps based upon trust.

Is this just another construct being put together in order to get a lower priced game going because of fewer inefficiencies? Have these alternatives arisen because of a scheme to make money? For sure the people behind these schemes intend to make money doing them. But the people, why do they use them? Uber is not the cheapest way to get a ride sometimes. Doesn’t this have at least something to do with how people feel about giving something their trust?

The competitors to the services I’ve mentioned are mad. They are losing business. They have paid a lot of money in order to gain the people’s trust. Maybe that is just it, they have only paid money, and not invested in the other things out of which trust grows.

I read somewhere years ago that trust begets trust. The worst thing you can do in a relationship based upon trust is to violate that trust. If you do so, then the only way it can be gotten back is by trusting the other who you’ve wronged. It might work, and it might not, but it is the only way back. Whether it is wealthy couples or well connected segments of a market or big companies; trying to win your way back after violating the trust of those you rely upon can’t be gained with money. Money can get you into a position of trust to begin with, but if you prove unworthy you won’t get it back with that, especially if the one you’ve wronged has a choice from amongst your competitors who don’t rely upon money in order to wholly form a sense of trust in them.

 

 

Leave a Reply

